Library Loot

library-loot

Hello again!

So I’ve been very bad at keeping up with memes on my blog. I always plan on setting up a queue of them so I don’t have to think about what I’m posting, but then I forget by the time the first queue is over.

Maybe I’m just not doing memes that interest me.

So I’m going to experiment with some new memes on the site and we’ll see how it goes (fingers crossed it goes well).

The first new meme I wanted to try is called Library Loot, where you write about what books you’ve gotten from the library each week!

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

I have a lot of books from the library right now, so much that I’m starting to worry I won’t finish them all in time before they’re due. And most of them are pretty big books, and they all sound interesting. So I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what happens!

ll1

American Girls by Alison Umminger: This book sounds like everything (or mostly everything) I wanted The Girls by Emma Cline to be but wasn’t. The book follows fifteen-year-old Anna who, tired with her life, steals her stepmothers credit card and moves to L.A. to live with her half-sister Delia. Spending most of her days on sets and sound stages with the lowest of the low actors, Anna starts researching the Manson Girls, and while she and these murderous girl’s stories and lives are very different, she can’t help but feel a kinship with them.

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson: This book has been getting a lot of hype on Goodreads, Bookstagram, and has made it onto a ton of Must-Read Books for 2017 Lists. Allegedy follows Mary who allegedly killed a white baby, though it was never proven if she did or not. After spending six years in jail and going to a group home,  Mary ends up working at a nursing home, meeting a guy named Ted, getting pregnant, and is now in danger of having her baby taken away. Mary needs to confront her Momma and find out what happened with the death of the white baby, discovering who her Momma is and who she is. I’m always excited to read more diverse books by diverse authors, so I can’t wait to start this one!

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab:  I just finished A Darker Shade of Magic and am all aboard the Shades of Magic train! And who doesn’t love V.E. Schwab? She’s been killing it recently with the Shades of Magic series, and her Monsters of Verity series which started this summer with This Savage SongA Gathering of Shadows takes place four months after the first book with the return of Lila, Rhy, and Kell. Kell and Red London are preparing for the Elemental Games, but Kell keeps having nightmares which when they end, makes him think of Lila. What are the Element Games? And what does it have to do with Lila? I don’t know, but I’m excited to find out!

Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente: I honest to God don’t know how to describe this book. It’s sci-fi, and like most sci-fi it gets complicated really fast, but that’s one of the things I love the genre. I found this book on a Bustle List of Books to Read if You Liked La-La Land, and since I loved La-La Land and the concept of this book I thought, why not? In it’s simpliest terms, this book follows Severine Unk who lives in an alternate 1986 where planets have been discovered, colonized, and can be visited by anyone with a spaceship. Severine is the daughter of a famous movie director, but instead of making Gothic Romances like her father, she wants to travel to the distant planets in the solar system and make documentaries of the people and cultures their. It sounds so interesting, and definitely has a classic Hollywood vibe. Also, that cover is GORGEOUS!

Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson: I’ve heard about this book for a while but didn’t pick it up until the creepy doll-eyed cover was staring at me from one of the shelves on the Bookmobile. The book follows sixteen-year-old Amy who, along with her cousin Dee, were kidnapped six years before the story begins. Amy refuses to speak to her family about what happened, or reveal Dee’s fate because she is afraid for could happen if she reveals her secrets. Amy tries to adjust to her life after being kidnapped for six years, and learns that some secrets can’t be kept forever, and the only way to deal with her trauma is by revealing what happened.

What’s some of your Library Loot for the week?

Leave a comment