Top Ten Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish meme/feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday is Literary Inspired Web Series! I’m very bad at thinking of topics for Top Ten Tuesday, but I was thinking of all the literary inspired web series I love, and that since my sister and I made one last year, it might be fun to list some of my favourites! 

  1. The Lizzie Bennet DiariesWho in the book loving community hasn’t watched The Lizzie Bennet Diaries? It was the literary inspired web series that made literary inspired web series cool! It’s a very creative adaption of Pride and Prejudice and it was so much fun to participate in transmedia with the characters!
  2. Emma ApprovedThe same creators as The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and just as enjoyable! Emma Approved had an incredibly diverse cast and a very unique filming style which differed from LBD. The chemistry between the characters was also amazing!
  3. CarmillaOne of my all time favourites AND IT’S CANADIAN! I’ve never read Carmilla but was aware of it before the web series came out. This web series also has an incredibly diverse cast and has many LGBTQ* and agender/genderfluid characters. I’ve never seen a web series to have such diversity and to not make a big deal over it and just treat it as an ordinary part of the characters.
  4. Green Gables Fables: A very to-the-book adaption of Anne of Green Gables. I enjoyed the first season a lot more than the second, but it’s still an amazing web series. While it was obviously modernized, it was easy to point out specific instances in the web series that mirrored the book. I’ve never seen a web series that was so true to the book.
  5. Project Green GablesSorry Green Gables Fables, but this is the Anne of Green Gables web series I’m obsessed with. Project Green Gables is still true to the original story, but it changes the story for a modern audience. For one thing, Anne is black and throughout the series she talks about the prejudice she faces in Avonlea. Project Green Gables is fun, while also incredibly serious by detailing the troubles with the foster care system, prejudice again race and sexuality. A must see for any Anne fan!
  6. Kate the CursedANOTHER CANADIAN WEB SERIES YAY! This is an adaption of Taming of the Shrew and is so much fun. Kate is such fun, tough, and real protagonist. I have a lot of issues with reading Taming of the Shrew as a comedy, I think it needs to be performed for the comedy to be seen, and Kate the Cursed does an excellent job at it!
  7. Classic AliceAlright, so this isn’t technically an LIW, but it kind of is? It’s about a university student named Alice who decides to put herself into fictional characters/books situations to solve problems she faces in her everyday life. I haven’t finished this one yet because their are so many episodes, but I love how creative it is! And as an English major, I enjoy the MLA citations. 😉
  8. The Adventures of Jamie Watson (and Sherlock Holmes)There are quite a few Sherlock Holmes LIW adaptions but this one is my favourite. I love the chemistry between Sherlock and Watson, the diversity of the cast, and the LGBTQ* characters. The adaptions of the mysteries are also really creative! I haven’t finished this one either because again, their are so many episodes! But it’s a must see for any Holmsian!
  9. The Glad GameI’ve never read Pollyanna but this web series makes me want to! It’s so incredibly cute, and I love the music the creator/head actress incorporates into the storyline! It’s so upbeat, cheerful, and perfectly Pollyanna!
  10. Charlotte’s Web SeriesOkay, okay, I’m cheating here. This is the one my sister and I made. But the one web series I was going to place here, The Dissertation of Henrietta Jekyll is no longer on youtube. Anyways, my sister and I made Charlotte’s Web Series and it was a lot of fun to make so if you’re interested in giving it a watch, click away!
Leave a Reply

