Top Ten Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish meme/feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday is Fictional Pets! Where would our favourite protagonists be without their ever loyal pet by their side. This creature could come in many forms from a sweet little cat to an owl to even a dragon. There is no limit to what counts as a pet in many books, but they’re all memorable, though often overlooked, characters.

WARNING: There are a lot of cats on this list, and they’re all awesome.

  1. Hedwig from the Harry Potter series by J.K. RowlingYou knew I was going to mention Hedwig right? No fictional pet list would be complete without this magnificent owl! She’s the reason every child wanted a pet owl growing up, and became a symbol for all the number of Hogwarts acceptance letters that never made it to us readers.
  2. Fang from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling: Who could forget the lovable Fang? He’s such a lovable dog and usually gets forgotten about because of the awesomeness of Hedwig and Crookshanks.
  3. Bruce from Beware That Girl by Teresa TotenBruce is the cutest corgi puppy that ever was! He doesn’t play a huge role in the book, but dang is he cute! Though he has an unfortunate name for a cute corgi puppy. All I can think of when I hear the name is Bruce Bogtrotter and Bruce the shark from Finding Nemo.
  4. Jellylorum from Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats and Letters from/by T.S. EliotFor those who don’t know, I’m in love with the musical Cats and T.S. Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats was the source for the musical. One of the characters mentioned in the poem The Naming of Cats and in a letter Eliot wrote to his godson mentioned the cat Jellylorum who happened to be his real cat. I think it’s so interesting that Eliot put his own cat into his poems!
  5. Spooky and the Ghost Cat from the Spooky series by Natalie Savage CarlsonMy mom used to read me these books when I’d bring them home from the school in kindergarten. Even then I was drawn to magic and cats and this book didn’t disappoint. It’s about a former witches cat named Spooky who escapes from living with an evil witch to a nice family, but at night will go see what the witch is up to a foil her evil plans. He eventually meets Ghost Cat, his lady friend. I don’t even know if this book is still in publication, but if you ever find it it’s one you need to read.
  6. Mr. Cat and Miss Sofia Brown from Tamsin by Peter S. BeagleI already love Peter S. Beagle but I was drawn to this book because the cover reminded me of the Spooky series. A black cat with a white ghost cat around him. That’s where the similarities between the two books end, but I think it’s funny that years later I found another book with two cat protagonists that are similar to Spooky and Ghost Cat. (also…this is the book my cat was named after!)
  7. Pirate Cat from The Last Unicorn by Peter S. BeaglePirate Cat only has a few short scenes in The Last Unicorn book and movie but he’s memorable! And he is a literal Pirate Cat complete with eye patch, peg leg, and he TALKS LIKE A PIRATE! What more could you want?!
  8. Jonas from We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson: What’s nice about Jonas is that he is simply the pet of the strange Merricat Blackwood. He doesn’t do much in the book but “listen” (do cats ever really listen?) to Merricat (and she talks to Jonas a lot). He kind of just does his own cat thing and doesn’t advance the plot at all, it’s nice that he’s just an ordinary cat in a very strange book.
  9. Dagda from the Sweep series by Cate TiernanIt’s been a long time since I’ve read the Sweep series but I remember when Dagda was introduced I immediately fell in love with him! This was way before I got my cat, and back when I was way more into witches and magic. I loved reading about familiars and how they interacted with their witches! From my memory Dagda is a pretty ordinary cat like Jonas, except that Dagda is a familiar of course.
  10. Myrna Mountweazel from Paper Towns by John Green: Again, it’s been a long time since I read this book but from my memory Myrna Mountweazel didn’t do much. She was memorable for me though because of her amazing alliterative name that was also foreshadowing.
Leave a Reply

